Piotr Wach software developer

Summary of the 2010 and plans for the future

Happy New Year 2011! I wish you to be at least as good as the last year :)

Let's look which of the things I have planned to accomplish in 2010 were done and which weren't.

Plans for 2010:

  • write an application for Android (I am android os developer, I have understanding of system internals, and of course I have written few applications for Android, including low level system components)
  • enrol in an English course (it was 4 months advanced English course in Profi-lingua)
  • go for vacations to Greece (it was Croatia, not Greece, but it was fun nevertheless :)
  • learn how to work in the team (I have worked as contact person for team of 8 people, managing communication between teams in London and Warsaw)
  • finish my studies (still working on it)
  • switch to English on my website
  • release few open source projects
  • go for the Game Developer's Conference in Siedlce and win

Few additional things that I have managed to accomplish or learn:

  • buy Windows Phone 7 device, and start developing software for this platform
  • go to London several times and live there for 3 months
  • participate in world-scale mobile project, and play there important part
  • learn a lot about Facebook API
  • release my first application to Windows Marketplace and start earning money from my own work and ideas
  • meet amazing and inspiring people during my stay in London
  • learn how to use linux & console and appreciate it a lot!
  • start to use git and mercurial
  • do everything from command line
  • finish big backup & restore & synchronization project

It was quite a lot, huh? I would have never thought that I will do so many things if you were told me this at the beginning of 2010 :)

Plans for 2011? Let's see:

  • go with Gosia to London for few months, this time between June and September
  • increase income from my private development to 1000$/month
  • learn design patterns, and how to make good design
  • learn test driven development
  • learn professional project management and scrum methodology
  • go on vacations to Italy(?)
  • enrol for an English course

Looks like this year will be again quite busy. Looking forward for what unexpected will happen! :)