Piotr Wach software developer

Game from IGK 2013

Last weekend(5-7 April) I have been on game development conference IGK in Siedlce. It was 10th anniversary of the conference, so even that I had to take morning flight, and then another one to be back at work on Monday morning, it was worth it.

I can’t say much about presentation that took place during the conference, as I came at the end of second day, but I have started with my team (Kamil “ayufan” Trzciński, Konrad “Rodrigo” Rodzik, Jarek “agent_j” Pelczar) in 8h game programming contest “Compo” and it was awesome!

img

This year, twelve teams joined the competition, producing in 8h all kinds of crazy games. Our game took 2nd place, we made top-down “tank vs tank” with multiplayer up to 4 players, with tanks controlled from a smartphone. The source code can be downloaded from bitbucket: https://bitbucket.org/gosuwachu/igk-2013/src.

As always time was short, but we managed to do everything we planned and even a little bit more. Game was written in C++ and cocos2d-x. I just want to congratulate to all the teams that started this year, and I hope that we will meet again next year!